Dog Food

Yep, I made dog food this morning before work.  I had gotten up and fed Clive the very last of his food and we are a few days away from his next delivery (fat dog’s gotta eat).  I wanted to give him a treat, so I thought I’d make him some food instead. I did a little research on it, and being that dog’s are omnivores they need a varied diet.  Having good carbs and dog friendly vegetables makes the food easy on the stomach and promotes solid stools (oh this blog is going places). Most recipes I saw called for chicken or turkey, but I know from painful experience that Clive does not do chicken. I recall watching a documentary on dogs way back when that said that dogs prefer organ meat, so I used liver in my recipe.

I’ve never made dog food before, but I think Clive will enjoy it.  My recipe looks something like this.

Dog Food

Ingredients:

2 cups of short grained rice
1-2 cups of quick cut oats
5-6 cups of water
1 package of frozen peas
1 packet of froze carrots
2-3 lbs of chopped organ meat (I used all beef liver, but ideally I’d use a combo of liver and heart)

Method:

Place all the ingredients in a large pot and mix to combine.  Bring to a boil and simmer (covered) until liquid is absorbed.  I had put in a little too much liquid, so I added some extra oats at the end to help absorb the liquid.

 

023

Clive

Leave a Reply

