Beef Back Ribs

My wife told recently brought home some ribs to grill.  I was expecting pork spare ribs or baby back ribs (and to be honest so did she), but in fact my wife had bought beef back ribs.  While a bit trickier to cook because of all the fat, beef ribs are a really great change of pace and really delicious.

The trickiest part of cooking beef ribs is dealing with the fat.  I did some research on preparing these, and of course you can smoke or bake these, but until someone gives me a better method, I believe in boiling the ribs first and then grilling them (a la good ol’ Tony Roma’s).

I’m not going to put a detailed recipe, because whenever I make beef ribs, it’s about as inexact as I go for cooking.  I just throw stuff in a pot.  My main tip would be to not boil the ribs in water.  There is no flavor in water.  Many opponents of boiling will point out that lots of flavor is lost, and maybe they’re right, but my beef ribs always turn out delicious, so I don’t know what they are talking about.

My boiling mixture usually consists of beer (stout beer is great for this), beef broth, onion, garlic, and some sort of seasoning (I used lots of Old Bay this time).  I then cut the ribs into 3-4 rib slabs and simmer the ribs for about one hour.  Remove the ribs from broth (which will have rendered tons of fat).  Then place the ribs on a pre heated grill and cook using the indirect heat method and grill for about 45-55 minutes (make sure they don’t burn).  For the last ten minutes of grilling, baste with your favorite bbq sauce.  I like using a richer molasses based sauce for beef ribs.

Grilled Ribs

Grilled Ribs

013

Leave a Reply

