Memorial Day Fried Chicken

I’m a big fried chicken fan.  With all this hoopla around Sergio Garcia’s recent unfortunate comments regarding Tiger Woods and chicken, it got me thinking.  “Who doesn’t really enjoy friend chicken.”  A good friend of mine, who happens to be white, recently tweeted out “I wish the negative association with fried chicken would disappear. The only people who don’t like fried chicken are ass ____.”

I’d agree with that.

I love fried chicken, but I always feel like it’s such a messy ordeal.  Maybe I’ve been wrong all these years?  Prior to cooking this chicken on memorial day, I had last cooked fried chicken in 2004, my first year of law school.  The chicken was amazing but my apartment smelled like fried chicken for days.  I haven’t made a true fried chicken since.  I had recently read a New York Times article that basically told America that you should fry chicken because it’s not that big a deal.  I took that to heart, my recipe is below.  I also made some biscuits and a watermelon salad (I have a hipster sense of irony sometimes).

Fried Chicken

Ingredients:

5 lbs of  bone-in chicken  (We are a dark meat crowd (not trying to be ironic), but you can just cut up a whole chicken)
2 cups of buttermilk
2-3 tbs of onion powder
1-2 tbs of  garlic powder
2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste
Paprika, salt, pepper, more garlic and onion powder, and flour for dredging (for flour dredge)
Oil for frying (I used canola and a bit of leftover goose fat), you can also use shortening.

Method:

Place first 5 ingredients in a non-reactive bowl or large zip top bag.  Marinate chicken overnight (or at least 3 hours, as the buttermilk also breaks down the chicken and makes it more tender).  Heat oil to 375 in cast iron skillet (I have a giant 15″ skillet, but a 12″ would do the trick).  Place flour dredging mixture in a sturdy paper or plastic bag.  Add 4 or 5 pieces of chicken and shake in flour mixture until well coated, taking care to prevent flour from spilling everywhere.  Remove chicken from flour mixture and shake off excess flour . Place chicken in oil and fry, for 7-8 minutes per side until golden brown.  You can also check chicken with a thermometer (out of the oil). The chicken should be around 155-160.  Drain fried chicken on paper bags covered with a layer of paper towels.  Allow chicken to cool for 10 or 15 minutes and serve.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

