Sunday Taco Fiesta!

I understand that it’s Saturday, but it’s a rainy Saturday afternoon, so I thought I’d blog about the meal I’m preparing tomorrow.  My wife and I just had a new neighbor move in the house next door.  In the spirit of being neighborly we invited him (and our other neighbors on the other side) to dinner tomorrow.

I am feeling pretty lazy, so I thought I’d go with something easy and hit with everyone.  Tacos.  Of course, it started as a simple idea, but as I researched it, I realized the meal was a little more complex than I planned.  First order of business was deciding what type of tacos to make. After careful deliberation I decided to go with carne asada and fish tacos.

I did a lot of research on carne asada, and marinade recipes for it vary widely.  Furthermore, I wasn’t crazy about the carne asada recipes that were on my usual recipe reference sites (Epicurious, Food & Wine, and Saveur), so I just researched a ton of recipes, but my marinade basically came out to be:

  • onion
  • olive oil
  • lime juice
  • lemon juice
  • orange juice
  • cilantro
  • chives
  • ancho chile powder
  • new mexico chile powder
  • garlic
  • jalapeno
  • white wine vinegar
  • salt/pepper to taste

Obviously I have not included any measurements, I mean hey it’s just a marinade.  I just juiced on the citrus, sliced the onion and chopped the herbs and mixed it all up. I’m using some real beautiful flank steak my wife picked up from Costco ($8 per lb!)

 

IMG_2658

IMG_2660

Can’t wait to grill it tomorrow.  I’m still trying to figure out what I’m going to do with the fish.  I’ve got a gorgeous 2lb corvina filet.  I’m thinking just a little olive oil, citrus, and maybe some chile powder and cilantro, then a simple grill and flake.

This morning I also prepared the salsas for tomorrow.  I am doing a variation of this recipe from Saveur. I added a little bit of citrus, cilantro, honey (chiles are a little bitter), and green onion.  For a second salsa, I made an avocado salsa with one big Florida avocado, garlic, onion, cilantro, chives, lime juice, and water and pureed that until it was pretty loose (maybe 1.5 cups of water).  I figured it would be a nice accompaniment to the smokey, spicy salsa.  It would also go great with the fish tacos.

IMG_2662

 

 

IMG_2663

 

 

Leave a Reply

