Thanksgiving Day Prep: Part I

As you may recall, in my last blog entry I prepared the fresh sugar pie pumpkin puree for the pumpkin pie.  As pie tastes a bit better if it has some time to chill out, I was up at 7:15 am to make it.  Last night I found a recipe I liked on Epicurious, which is really maybe my favorite recipe site (as much as I talk about Martha). Epicurious also has a great iphone app, which allows you to create shopping lists based on recipes you select, not to mention it’s far more convenient following a recipe from your phone than bringing the computer to the kitchen.

The pie is just about done.  NOTE: I adjusted the pumpkin pie recipe a bit as I didn’t think the mix was “spicy” enough.  I added vanilla extract, a bit more nutmeg, more cinnamon and a bit of allspice.  I just checked the pie at 50 minutes and it’s still a bit wobbly.  I hope the recipe called for enough egg.

While the pie was baking I focused my attention to the cranberry sauce, another item that benefits from being done early.  From our produce share we got a pint of beautiful organic cranberries and some tangelos.  Orange and cranberry so I made combined them to make my cranberries this year:

Cranberry Tangelo Relish:
Ingredients
1 pt cranberries
1 tangerine, zested and juiced
1 cup sugar
1/2  cup triple sec (or grand marnier)

Method: In a small sauce pan combine all the ingredients.  Heat at medium high until cranberries pop and mixture begins to boil.  Drop heat to a simmer and simmer 8-10 minutes, stirring frequently until mixture is shiny and thick.  Allow to cool at room temperature and then cool in refrigerator.

While I was searching through my pantry for pumpkin pie spices I did also find a packet of yeast.  I probably used it a while back to make pizza or something, because I’m not really a baker.  I thought, it’s Thanksgiving why not bake some rolls?  I had seen a really good looking recipe for “Granny Foster’s Refrigerator Rolls” on Martha Stewart, so I thought I’d give those a try.  I halved the recipe.  Right now the dough is proofing.  I think this is a great recipe as the dough formed very easily (due to milk and melted butter I’m sure) and was super easy to work.  I kneaded for about 5 seconds.  I’m sure the rolls are going to be incredibly tender and flaky.

The Next round of preparation will involve the sweet potatoes and turkey prep.  I’m shooting for a meal time around 4.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

