Thanksgiving!!!

Been a long time since I’ve posted on here.  I’ve meant to, but last two months at work have been the busiest of my career.  But on to topics I enjoy speaking about, such as food and Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday! This year, it’s just Beatriz and I celebrating Thanksgiving, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t going to chow down.  While we are grateful for having each other, I’m sure we are both equally grateful for the spread I’ve got planned for us.

Beatriz recently enrolled us in an organic produce share.  We are members of a local buying club where every two weeks you get like 20 or 30 lbs of organic fresh produce.  Tonight was our very first pick up and the share has a thanksgiving feel.  Some of the items included a small sugar pumpkin, onions, yams, green beans, mushrooms, romaine lettuce, arugula, carrots, celery, pears, apples (granny smith and fuji), tangelos, bananas, cranberries, and parsley.

As for the bird, we ordered a small (10-12lbs) fresh organic turkey from Whole foods, which I will pick up Tuesday.  I’m going to brine that sucker and serve it with a really great dressing inspired by this Martha Stewart Recipe.  The menu will more or less look like this (with basic ingredients in parenthesis, this is basically my shopping list for Tuesday):

Whole Roasted Turkey with Gravy

(brine, white wine, butter, aromatics, turkey stock)
Cranberry-tangelo relish
(Cranberries, tangerine, sugar, juice of tangerine)
Dressing with sausage and chicken livers
(prunes, celery, sausage, calvados, half & half, onion, celery, Chestnuts?, bread, chicken stock, sage, parsley)
Sauteed Green Beans and Mushrooms
(green beans, garlic, onion, mushrooms)
Butter pecan sweet potatoes (Martha Stewart Recipe)
(sweet potatoes, brown sugar, butter, pecans, cayenne pepper)
Fresh Pumpkin pie
(pie shell, allspice, nutmeg, cinnamon, sugar, fresh pumpkin, eggs, evaporated milk)
Fresh Whipped Cream
(cream, powdered sugar, vanilla)

I plan on blogging during the Thanksgiving food preparation, so I’ll be sure to take pictures and post Thursday night after dinner.  The key to any thanksgiving meal however, is preparation.  Really getting your ducks in a row prior to Thursday is key.

Here is how I will probably allocate my time.

Tuesday: Purchase turkey, shop for certain items not already bought (e.g. bread for stuffing, dairy, eggs, etc.)

Wednesday (night): prepare turkey brine and brine turkey.  Prepare dressing (but not bake it) and cranberries.

Thursday (Morning): bake pie.

Thursday (afternoon): Prep turkey for baking (out at room temp for 2 hours, tuck wings, etc.) bake dressing, roast sweet potatoes, Begin roasting of turkey, prepare turkey stock)

Thursday (evening): prepare green bean dish, heat up sweet potatoes and dressing, carve bird, eat bird, drink one of the bottles of burgundy we brought back from France

as my favorite gym instructor Rob says “Done and Done.”  See you later.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving!!!

  1. Wow, Wow!!! I wish that I could be there to enjoy such a terrific Menu. My Turkey is organic also and weight 11 pounds. If everything goes well I will send pictures and I hope my mentor will be proud of me…
    Be thankfull for everything what you have and I will keep both of you in my prayers,

    mom

Leave a Reply

