Back Blogging: Good Friday Seafood Meal

I have been woefully deficient in my recent blogging, especially after getting to such a good start after the Irresistible Impulse reboot.  So far, I think the response has been positive to the blog’s new emphasis on food.  So far people’s favorite recipe is the beer can chicken.  For good reason.  It’s a cool recipe.  Even though I haven’t been blogging (swamped with work and the girlfriend’s move in), I’ve got a couple of good meals I documented, so here goes.

I work for a law firm based out of Louisiana, with Catholic roots, so Good Friday is a recognized firm holiday.  I’ve never worked anywhere where Good Friday was given a day off, so I was most happy to relax (and by relax, I mean put together IKEA wardrobes for my girlfriend and get chewed out by my boss who was at work and judging me for taking a holiday) and wallow in my Catholicism (despite the fact I haven’t gone to mass since I was 13).  In a fit of Catholic nostalgia, I forbade myself or my girlfriend from eating meat the entire day, so we went the fish route. 

Whole Roasted Snapper

For dinner, I made a lovely whole roasted red snapper (stuffted with shallots, thyme, lime, garlic, and seasoned with salt and pepper), and a some green curry clams.  Both Recipes were very simple.

Whole Roasted Snapper

Ingredients:
2-3lb Yellowtail Snapper (common in Florida, but you could replace with Red Snapper, Hog Snapper or Mangrove Snapper), scaled, cleaned, and with the head on (man up people! the cheek meat is the best part anyway)
5-6 sprigs of thyme
2-3 shallots, sliced
2-3 garlic cloves, sliced
1 small lime, sliced
salt and pepper to taste
olive oil for drizzling

Method:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Season fish (inside and out) with salt and pepper.  In cavity of fish, place several lime slices, shallots, garlic, and the thyme sprigs.  Drizzle fish lightly with olive oil.  Roast in oven for 15-20 minutes until the fish is crispy.  Do not over cook.  the fish should be super crisp on top and very very moist inside.  You take the fish out as soon as the meat starts to easily separate from the bones.  Allow the fish to rest for 5 minutes and serve.

Green Curry Clams:

Ingredients:
3-4 shallots, sliced
4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
1-2 tbs favorite green curry paste
1 small bottle of clam juice (12oz)
80z of white wine
2-3 sprigs of thyme
1 can of coconut milk
1 can of diced tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste
2-3 dozen fresh little neck clams
oil for frying

Method:
Heat large saucepan to high.  Add oil and saute the shallots and garlic.  Add remaining ingredients (except clams) and have the broth simmer for 15-20 minutes.  Raise the heat, and add your clams and cook until clams open up.  Serve immediately with fresh bread (which we did not have).

Green Curry Clams

Leave a Reply

