Failed Thursday Night Dinner, but Successful Saturday Lunch.

I have a good friend in town who has been intent on having a pig roast this weekend.  God, I hope he has it, as I would be helping prepare the pig and that would make for some amazing blogging!  But I digress, this same buddy Dan has had maybe two or three pig roasts over the last year or so.  Every time he has one, I say “man we need to roast a kid goat, that would be awesome.”

Dan, a Brasilian is receptive to it, but every time it comes around to roasting an animal we go pig.  For good reason, pig is the perfect animal and will never bad mouth someone for choosing pig over goat.  Since we’re not going to roast a kid goat in the ol’ caja china this weekend (god willing we will be roasting a glorious glorious swine), I thought goat might be a good option for dinner tonight.

There are some pitfalls with goat.  It can be very tough.  Also, it’s pretty hard to find.  Here in Miami, you’re not gonna find goat at your local Publix supermarket.  Usually you have to go to a more… Let’s say colorful store. 

I live in a transitional area of Miami, between the areas of Miami Shores, Shorecrest, and the MIMO district.  There is this absolute dive of a Caribbean supermarket down the street from where I live, in this absolutely dilapidated shopping center.  This is the very type of place you’ll find goat.  This is where I FOUND goat.  

Another problem with goat is that it’s hard to find uniform cuts.  Usually the goat is just butchered in unidentifiable large chunks.  I got a piece which seems to be the saddle.  I was hoping that piece would be tender.  I can tell you right now, after an hour of cooking… it aint’ ready yet.  Think we’re gonna be having a late supper….

I digress though.  I decided to make a provencial-carribean style goat saddle.  In a ceramic roasting tray I placed onions, tomato, garlic, thyme, chayote squash (or mirliton), chicken stock, white wine, and salt and pepper.  I placed the seasoned goat on top.  I started it covered in foil at 400 for 1.5 hours and then down to 270 for 4 hours (had the oven automatically shut off in the middle of the night).

We actually ended up enjoying the goat Saturday for lunch.  It was really good.  Goat is like lamb’s gamier cousin.  The goat meat got really tender and caramelized.  It was a real treat.

Leave a Reply

