Indoor Barbecue Part 1

Over the years, I’ve cultivated a reputation as a grill master.  Unfortunately, last year I moved into an apartment and lost access to my grill and smoker.  While I have a hole in my heart that only cooking with flames and smoke can fill, reasonable facsimiles can carry the day if you have the time and ingenuity.

My love of barbecue (and college football) was discovered at the University of Oklahoma, my alma mater.  I spent 8 of the greatest years of my life living, learning, and of course eating some great Oklahoma smoked barbecue.  My folks,  Haitian immigrants, also have a real affinity for barbecue.  Whenever they’d come out to Norman for graduations (I received two degrees from the University) we’d always go to barbecue joints in town.

Now that I’m back in Miami, whenever my folks come over for meals, half the time they are expecting barbecue.  Being the dutiful son I am, I try not to disappoint.  Today, I’m cooking a little indoor barbecue.  Here is what’s on the menu.

  • Beer Can Chicken
  • Slow Cooked Baby Back Ribs
  • Buttermilk Cole Slaw
  • Steamed squash
  • Roasted Asparagus
  • Zucchini Oatmeal Bread

As to not make this the longest blog post ever, I’m going to break this meal up over three or four blog posts (keeping in mind I’m still not done with last Sunday’s meal, but I digress).

First order of business for any barbecue, is a spice rub.  While I usually make my own rub from scratch, I was feeling exceptionally lazy this morning and I came up with a nice lazy man’s spice rub.  This rub came out really well.  Perfectly seasoned, not to salty and full of  flavor.  The Old Bay has a very strong celery salt flavor that I think lends itself well for barbecue.

Ingredients:
2 tbs Old Bay Seasoning
2-3 tbs Chili Powder (not hot chile powder, but that cheap mix which contains chile,     garlic, onion, salt, pepper, etc.)
3 tbs Smoked Paprika
1 tbs garlic powder
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp salt (already salt in old bay and chili powder)
1 tsp cayenne
4 tbs brown sugar
1 tsp oregano
2 tbs of ground coffee (I used some cafe du monde chicory coffee that I got from NOLA last year!)

Method: Combine.

The Rub will be used for Beer Can Chicken and Slow Cooked Baby Back Ribs:

Beer Can Chicken

Ingredients:

1 4-5 lb whole fryer chicken
Lazy Man’s Spice Rub
1 beer (I used 1 Kirin Ichiban tall boy)
favorite barbecue sauce

Method: Rinse chicken and dry with paper towels.  Pour out 1/4 of beer (or drink).  Rub spice mixture all over chicken and sprinkle inside the cavity. Stand the chicken on Beer can by firmly squeezing chicken cavity over beer can and stand on baking dish.  Place chicken in preheated 250 degree oven or 2 hours 45 minutes.  Brush favorite barbecue sauce on chicken and continue cooking or 15-20 minutes.

Slow Cooked Baby Back Ribs

3-4 lbs baby back ribs
Lazy Man’s Spice Rub
favorite barbecue sauce

Method: Rub meat with Spice Rub.  Place in preheated 250 degree oven or 2 hours 45 minutes.  Brush with favorite barbecue sauce and continue roasting for 15 minutes longer.

As you can see, the recipes came out really well.  The ribs and chicken were moist and succulent.  While the smoke flavor of barbecue isn’t quite as strong (only coming from the smoked paprika and the barbecue sauce), it’s a reasonable substitute.

One thought on “Indoor Barbecue Part 1

  1. Old Bay is such a great secret ingredient. Growing up in Md. I never thought of it as a secret, but when I referenced it on my blog there was a definite divide between those who knew it and loved it and those who’d never heard of it.

Leave a Reply

