My Busy Food Sunday: Coconut Rum Flan

I am still not through blogging about the dishes I prepared for last Sunday’s meal.  So far from that day I featured the beef jerky I had made along with the outstanding beef tenderloin I cooked up.  Next up?  Some coconut rum flan I made.

First order of business.  I’m a cook, not a baker or pastry chef.  I am just not usually as successful with desserts, but I can carry my own.  Knowing that sweets can be a weakness, I usually strive to make cook’s desserts.  Bread pudding, rice pudding, things that don’t require the precision of baking.  Every once in a while though I’ll get down with a custard or creme brulee.  Dating a Colombian though, I like to make stuff like arroz con leche or flan to make her feel nostalgic.

First of all, I surfed the internet and found a recipe on Sharing Plate – Your Cooking Coach.  I did adapt the recipe somewhat as I wanted to make it in individual ramekins and I wanted to make it a little richer so I substituted the low fat milk and low fat coconut milk for the full fat versions.  I also reduced the amount of whole eggs to 4 and added 2 more egg yolks.  I also 86ed the shredded coconut, because I like my flan smooth.  Here is more or less what I did.

Coconut Rum Flan

Ingredients:

For caramel

  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¼ cup water

For flan

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 (14 ounce) coconut milk
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 4 whole eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons dark rum
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup shredded unsweetened coconut, toasted

Method:

For Caramel:

Bring the sugar and water to a boil in a small heavy saucepan over medium heat, stirring until sugar has dissolved, then wash down any sugar crystals from the side of pan with a pastry brush dipped in cold water. Boil, without stirring, swirling pan occasionally so caramel colors evenly, until dark amber.  Pour into ramekins as to coat the bottom of each (enough caramel for about 6 ramekins)

For Flan:

Heat the milk and coconut milk with the sugar until the mixture simmers. Whisk the eggs, add the rum, salt and vanilla extract in a small bowl. Add ½ cup of hot milk mixture to the egg mixture and mix well. Add the tempered egg mixture into the milk mixture mixing well. Strain mixture if you have some cooked egg  in the custard, and pour custard in ramekins.  Place the ramekins  into the roasting pan and fill the roasting pan with hot water- about ½ inch high. Bake for about 45 to 50 minutes until just set but still wobbly in center. Refrigerate over night or at least 2-3 hours.

Pretty good, but as I said I’m not always perfect with the desserts.

Critique #1:  I think it turned out a bit eggy.  Not quite like a chinese egg custard, but more eggy than I’d like.  In the future I’d probably reduce the whole egg total to two and had 3 or 4 yolks.  Critique #2, I think I’d lower the temperature and cook it a bit less.  That being said it was a worthy effort.  Think I’m going to try flan again next weekend.

Leave a Reply

