I’ve Got Beef

Seems I’ve got beef with everyone these days seemingly.  Enough about my personal life however.  On my busy food Sunday I made a really delicious beef tenderloin.  I’ll tell you, I am not a fan of beef tenderloin usually.  Actually I think (or perhaps used to think) that beef tenderloin was one of the most overrated cuts of meat you can buy.  I think must people just get it because it’s the most expensive and they think it’s the best.  “Give me a bone in rib eye” is what I usually say.  But I have to admit, the beef tenderloin has its merits.  It’s like that nice comfortable suit you don’t wear enough.

Anyway, Beatriz had a good friend in town from Chicago so I thought I’d make something reasonably special.  I ended up going to Costco on Saturday and found a really beautiful smallish beef tenderloin (between 4-5 lb).  At $8.99 lb the price was right.  For this recipe I only used the chateubriand end, and reserved the longer half to freeze for future use.

Ingredients:

1 2-3 lb Beef tenderloin (chateaubriand)
3 cloves of garlic crushed
2-3 tbs olive oil
2-3 tbs herbs de Provence
2 tsp black pepper
salt to taste

Method: Place all the ingredients except the salt in a zip top bag and marinate in the fridge 5-6 hours.  30-45 minutes prior to cooking, bring meat out to room temperature. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  Heat a large oven proof skillet over high heat until lightly smoking.  Season beef with salt. Add 1-2 tbs of canola oil to pan and sear the tenderloin on all sides.  Place pan in the oven and roast for 10-12 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow the roast to rest for 10 minutes (MOST IMPORTANT STEP).  Carve and serve.

Perfect medium-rare.  I think I can get used to this beef tenderloin thing.  It’s great for entertaining and this was very tasty.  The herbs and salt formed a perfect crust and the meat was moist and flavorful.  I’m not sure I’m a tenderloin convert, but I’ll give it some consideration next time I’m at the steak house.

Leave a Reply

